Odion Ighalo To Be Replaced By Cyriel Dessers In The Super Eagles Squad For 2021 AFCON.

Feyenoord striker Cyriel Dessers could replace Odion Ighalo in the Nigeria's squad for the 33rd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations set to commence January 9, 2021 in Cameroon.

Ighalo is the latest Super Eagles forward to miss out of the tournament having previously been added to the 28-man squad.

Saudi Arabian club, Al-Shabab, has allegedly threatened to stop their striker Odion Ighalo from joining the Super Eagles due to a clause in his contract that states he won't honour national team tournament.

Ighalo is currently the top-scorer in the Saudi Pro League with 11 goals and 1 assist this season. He has so far made a total of 29 appearances scoring 19 goals since joining Al-Shabab in February 2021.

Al-Shabab are second in the league standings with 31 points after 15 matches.

The 32-year-old centre-forward is reportedly in Nigeria and has been given a deadline by Super Eagles Interim boss Augustine Eguavoen to confirm his availability or be replaced by Cyriel Dessers.

Ighalo played a vital role with the Super Eagles squad that finished in third place in the last AFCON tournament in Egypt 2019.

Ighalo finished as winner of the Golden boot having emerged top-scorer with five goals, but announced his retirement from international duty shortly after the competition.

He was recalled to the national team in November 2021 after two years of his initial retirement by former boss Gernot Rohr.

The former Watford and Man United striker, would now be next high-profile player to drop out of the squad list, following the earlier withdrawal of Victor Osimhen and Emmanuel Dennis whom were replaced by Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos Greece), Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech).

Cyriel Dessers has been tipped to replace Ighalo. Dessers has been involved in 10 goals ( scoring 9, and 1 assist) in 21 appearances for Feyenoord this season.

Nigeria is seeking to win the AFCON title for a fourth time in Cameroon, having won the  title in 1980, 1994, and 2013 respectively.

The Super Eagles preparatory camp have been opened in Abuja since Dec. 29, 2021 with 23 players available as of Tuesday evening.

England-based trio of Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, and Wilfred Ndidi were amongst nine other players who arrived at the Super Eagles Bolton White Hotel camp late on Tuesday. 

Five players are still been expected which includes, Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Joseph Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain) and Odion Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia).

The team is expected to depart for Garoua, Cameroon on Wednesday, six days before their opening Group D fixture against seven-time champions Egypt.

List Of Players Present in Camp:


Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands)


Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)


Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)


Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic).

No comments

Powered by Blogger.