Sevilla Emerge Champions Of The 2019-20 Europa League For A Record Sixth Time.

Sevilla have been crowned the 2019-20 Europa League champions for a record-extending sixth time (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020), the most by any team.

The Spanish side have won all six Uefa Cup or Europa League finals they have played in.

They lifted the trophy on Friday night following a thrilling 3-2 victory over Italian side Inter Milan at the RheinEnergieStadion in Cologne.

The final fixture began quite entertaining, as Inter opened scoring just five minutes into the game with Romelu Lukaku winning a penalty, and scoring his 34th goal of the season from the spot, extending his Europa League goal scoring record to 11 consecutive games.

Luuk de Jong got an equalizer for Sevilla in the 12th minutes through bullet header from Jesus Navas cross. 

The Dutchman Luuk de Jong doubled his tally with a second header from Ever Banega's free kick in the 33rd minutes to give Sevilla the lead 2-1.

Inter Milan hit back immediately as Diego Godin nodded in from an assist by Brozovic to make it 2-2 in the 35th minute, before the pulsating first half was brought to an end.

The second half began quite intense for both sides who were trying to contain each other with a twist to come.

Lukaku who has enjoyed a debut season for Inter, was said to be the villian on the night after he had deflected Diego Carlos stunning bicycle kick into his own net to put Sevilla ahead 3-2 in the 74th minutes.

There was no way back for Antonio Conte's men who tried all possibility to stage a comeback with just 16 minutes left to end the game, as Sevilla truimphed afterwards in Germany.

The victory for Sevilla, hands Julen Lopetegui his first ever managerial trophy just after his appointment as manger of the side last summer, while Inter Milan who last won a trophy in 2010 under Jose Mourinho, would have to wait a little more to end a 10-year trophy drought.

Speaking after the game, Sevilla's boss Julen Lopetegui, whose side are 21 games unbeaten since February said;

"This is a magnificent club,"

"I hope all the fans can celebrate it but with caution.

"This squad are great. They believe in it, what they work on and what they transmit. Even if we hadn't won I'd still love these guys, but today we take home the prize. We always believed."

CloudNine Sports understands that the last nine Europa Leagues all have been won by Spanish or English teams - Sevilla have won four, Chelsea two and Atletico Madrid and Manchester United one each. The last Italian team to win the trophy were Parma in 1999.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.