The 2020 Edition Of The Madrid Open Has Officially Been Cancelled Due To Covid-19 Pandemic.

The 2020 edition of the Madrid Open has officially been cancelled due to coronavirus pandemic In Spain.

The organizers were warned not to host the event this year, after the Spanish health ministers, sent letters recommending against playing the tournament in its new September dates due to uncertainty and rising coronavirus cases in the country.
This would be the second time the tournament have been cancelled this year, as it was initially scheduled to take place from 1st to 10th May but was rescheduled to commence on 12th September and end 20th September, 2020, just immediately after the US Open.

Spain has been one of the most hit nation, witnessing a rapid spike in new infections. Some other European countries have announced travellers from Spain must quarantine for some days.

The Community of Madrid announced few days ago a number of new measures to control the virus’s spread, including a directive that social gatherings are to be reduced to 10 people, both in public and private meetings, further reducing the feasibility of operating the tournament.

The Madrid Open, also known as the Madrid Masters, is one of the biggest clay-court tournaments of the season, and it's cancellation 
is another major blow for the tennis calendar due to the Covid-19 crisis.

According to a statement issued on Tuesday via the Madrid Open website, the organizers had no choice but to cancel the tournament due to the complex situation that covid-19 continues to generate in every regard.

“To show our responsibility for the current health crisis caused by covid-19, and having evaluated the casualties that the pandemic has continued to generate, together with the authorities, we have now decided that 2020 Mutua Madrid Open will not take this year.

The statement also said that the final decision on the tournament rested with owner Ion Tiriac.

CloudNine Sports understands that any fan who decides to keep their tickets after the postponement, are guaranteed tickets for the same tournament and seats in 2021, which will now be played from 30th April to 9th May 2021 in the Caja Mágica. 

World No.1 Novak Djokovic will remain the men singles reigning champion until next year, after the Serbian defeated Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas 6-3, 6-4 in the final last year.

While Dutch tennis player Kiki Bertens will remain the women singles reigning champion after emerging champion of the tournament last year without loosing a single set. Kiki defeated Romanian Simona Halep 6-4, 6-4 in the final last year to win the title.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.