OFFICIAL: USA Are Crowned CHAMPIONS Of The Maiden CONCACAF Nations League.

The United States are crowned CHAMPIONS of the inaugural CONCACAF Nations League tournament.

The Nations League tournament was created for teams in North America, Central America and the Caribbean and will be played every two years.

U.S.A defeated Mexico 3-2 on extra-time to emerge winners, thanks to goalkeeper Ethan Horvath blocking a penalty kick from AndrΓ©s Guardado in the last minutes of the over-time.

The Club Brugge shot-stopper was the Hero on the day, as he handed the first collective triumph of the USMNT 'golden generation,' and their first international title since the 2017 Gold Cup.

"I'm kind of speechless to be honest," Horvath said after the inaugural final.

"If you're on the bench as a keeper you don't expect to come in the game.

"It's just a whole bunch of emotion. It's a special moment for me in my hometown of Denver."

US came from behind twice to force extra time at the Denver's Empower Field.

Borussia Dortmund's star Giovanni Reyna equalizer in the 27th minute, Juventus midfielder Weston McKennie in the 82nd min, and Chelsea winger Christain Pulisic penalty goal in the 117th minutes gave U.S.A the much deserved victory.

The penalty was only awarded after a lengthy VAR consultation during which Mexico coach Gerardo Martino was sent off for confronting the referee.

It's a second trophy in eight days for the captain America Pulisic, who only linked up with the United States squad straight after winning the Champions League with Chelsea with a 1-0 victory over Man City last Saturday in Porto.

USA next game would be against Costa Rica in friendly on Wednesday.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.