Premier League Nominees For The Player Of The Year (POTY).

The Premier League have on Tuesday confirmed the nominees for the 2020/21 Player of the Year Awards (POTY), and Eight players from different clubs are in contention to win the award.

Manchester City's duo Kevin De Bruyne and Ruben Dias are the only players from the same team to be selected, as they both played a vital role in helping their team win the league.

The Portuguese defender Ruben Dias is now bidding to win his second award, having already won the Football Writers' Association award in May, beating team-mate Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham star Harry Kane to emerge winner.

Dias contribution to the City's defence since joining from Benfica in September 2020, was a major factor that saw him become the first defender to win the FWA award since Liverpool's Steve Nicol back in 1989.

Spurs striker Harry Kane is another top nominee after clinching the Premier League Golden Boot Award and Playmaker award.

Kane scored 23 goals, one ahead of Liverpool's winger Mohammed Salah, and five goals clear of Manchester United's playmaker Bruno Fernandes who were also nominated.

The England captain also finished the season with the most assist (14), that's two ahead of Kevin De Bruyne and Bruno Fernandes 12 assists each.

Chelsea youngster Mason Mount also made the cut. He helped his team to a fourth place finish in the league, and also won the Champions League with the Blues.

West Ham's midfielder Tomas Soucek, was a major part of his club success stories of the campaign, helping his team secure Europa League football next season with a sixth-place finish having battled relegation a season earlier.

The Czech international Soucek, joined the Hammers in the summer and enjoyed a fine debut season, scoring 10 goals.

Jack Grealish from Aston Villa completed the nominees list, he helped Villa to an 11th-placed finish, the club had narrowly escaped relegation last season finishing 17th with 35 points.

Villa climbed six places in the league to finish 11th, much in part thanks to the efforts of Grealish

Despite missing the latter part of the campaign with injury, Grealish still posted six goals and 10 assists. He is expected to be named in Gareth Southgate’s final Euro squad later on Tuesday.

The nominees for the Premier League POTY:

• Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

• Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

• Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

• Harry Kane (Spurs) 

• Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

• Mason Mount (Chelsea)

• Tomas Soucek (West Ham)

• Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)

Meanwhile other categories like the Manager of the Season Awards, has five nominees for the award.

Marcelo Bielsa of Leeds United, Pep Guardiola of the champions Man City, Brendan Rodgers of Leicester City, David Moyes of West Ham, and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer of Manchester United are all in contention for the award.

The nominees for the Premier League Young Player of the Season award:

• Phil Foden (Man City)

• Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton)

• Ruben Dias (Man City)

• Marcus Rashford (Man United)

• Declan Rice (West Ham)

• Illan Meslier (Leeds Utd)

• Mason Mount (Chelsea)

• Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

The winners would be decided by votes from the fans on the EA Sports website, combined with those of the 20 Premier League club captains and a panel of football experts.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.