The 2021/22 League Cup Semi-final Draw Set.

The 2021/22 League Cup semifinals draw has been set.

Following the conclusion of the quarter-final fixtures on Wednesday night that saw Chelsea, Tottenham and Liverpool join Arsenal as the semi-finalist teams in the competition, the semi-final draw was done immediately with the four teams knowing their opponents.

Arsenal had cruised past Sunderland 5-1 at the Emirates stadium on Tuesday, thanks to Eddie Nketiah's hattrick, Nicolas Pépé's and debutant midfielder Charlie Patino's goals on the night.

Chelsea who last reached the semifinals of the Carabao Cup for the first time since the 2017-18 season, secured an excellent 2-0 win at Brentford on Wednesday night courtesy of an 80th minute own goal from Pontus Jansson, and Jorginho penalty in the 85th mins.

Tottenham Hotspur got the better of their bitter rivals West Ham United 2-1 to reach the semi-final of the competition for the second consecutive year with goals from Steven Bergwijn, and Lucas Moura.

Liverpool mounted a dramatic last-minute comeback before beating Leicester (5-4) on penalties after a 3-3 draw to reach the semi-finals of the Carabao Cup at Anfield.

Takumi Minamino's last-minute equaliser took Liverpool's thrilling tie with Leicester to penalties, with Diogo Jota scoring a crucial spot-kick to send Reds into last four.

Eight-time winners Liverpool will face Arsenal who last won the competition in 1993 for a place in the Carabao Cup final; while Chelsea to take on London rivals Tottenham.

Antonio Conte comes up against his former club as Spurs looks to reach the final for the second successive season.

The current champions are Manchester City, who beat Tottenham 1–0 in the 2021 final to win their fourth consecutive League Cup and eighth overall.

Despite the current Covid_19 issues, the two-legged semi-finals will take place between January 4-5 (first leg), and January 11-12 (second leg), hopefully they will reconsider and make this just a one-off game just like last year.

The final will be at Wembley Stadium on February 27.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.