Asisat Oshoala Wins A Record Fifth CAF Africa Women's Player of the Year Award.

Asisat Oshoala has been awarded the 2022 CAF African women of the year creating a new record in the process.

Oshoala becomes the greatest African female  footballer of all time, having won the award from Africa in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, and now 2022.

She emerged winner of the the award ahead of Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon and Inter Milan) and Zambia international Grace Chanda (Zambia and BIIK Kazygurt) in the gala held in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday.

She also breaks her tie (4) with former Falcons striker and legend Perpetua Nkwocha by earning the prize for the fifth time.

Oshoala is the fourth Nigerian to land the women's version of the award, following in the footsteps of Mercy Akide (2001), Nkwocha (2004, 2005, 2010 & 2011) and Cynthia Uwak (2006 & 2007).

The Nigerian striker who plays for FC Barcelona Femeni in Spain had an impressive season with the Spanish Giants, Despite missing couple of matches (three months) due to injury woes, she won the pichichi (top scorer) award with 20 goals in 19 appearances making her the first African to clinch the award.

Although Barcelona Femeni fell to defeat in the Champions League final against Lyon, Oshoala still won the domestic treble (Spanish league title, Kings Cup, Super Cup) with Barca in the concluded season and was very instrumental for the team.

The 27 years old was part of the Super Falcons squad at the ongoing 2022 Women's Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) before she was ruled out of the tournament after getting injured in the group opener defeat against Banyana Banyana of South Africa.

Recall that, Morocco, The host nations defeated the nine-time champions to qualify for their first ever WAFCON final. 9-women Super Falcons were shown two red cards in the semi-final game against the Atlas Lionesses, and after extra time eventually lost to the host on penalties.

Both teams had already qualified for the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Nigeria will play Zambia for Third place while Morocco and South Africa will lock horns in the final.

 The CAF Women’s Awards in Full:

• Club of the Year (Women) – Mamelodi Sundowns
• Interclub Player of the Year (Women) - Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

• Young Player of the Year (Women) - Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

• Coach of the Year (Women) - Desiree Ellis (South Africa).

No comments

Powered by Blogger.