Four Super Falcons Stars Are Nominated For CAF Women's Player Of The Year Award 2022.

Four Super Falcons stars Asisat Oshoala, Uchenna Kanu, Chiamaka Nnadozie and Rasheedat Ajibade have all been named in the CAF preliminary nomination list for the women's Africa Player of the Year award for 2022.

The four of the Super Falcons stars are currently in Morocco playing the Women Africa Cup of Nations.

Top of the list is Barcelona Women star, Asisat Oshoala who scored 20 goals for Barcelona in the just concluded season and won three trophies with the Catalan team.

Oshoala who is the current player of the year has won the award four times.

Rasheedat Ajibade joins Asisat on the list with her performance for Atletico Madrid in Spain. The star scored the consolation goal for the Super Falcons against South Africa in the 2-1 loss on Monday.

Chiamaka Nnadozie is another star that is on the list. The goalkeeper shun in Paris FC’s run in the Women’s UEFA Champions League where they crashed out in the quarter finals.

The 21 year old was voted the revelation of the season by the French Association of Professional Goalkeeper Coaches.

The final Super Falcon on the list is Uchenna Kanu who plays in Mexico with Tigres UANL.

The 25 years old had an impressive season netting 7 times in 10 appearances for the Mexican club.

Asides from Nigeria, 11 other African nations are represented on the nomination list with the award ceremony slated for the 21st of July.

An improved Banyana Banyana of South Africa side dominated the list with 6 players, while Nigeria and Cameroon has four players each, three players from Ghana and Morocco.

Other notable names on the 30-woman list include 2018 winner Thembi Chrestinah Kgatlana, Gabrielle Onguene who finished second behind Oshoala in 2016, and 2017, high-flying Inter Milan striker Ajara Nchout Njoya, and South Africa's midfielder maestros Refiloe Jane and Linda Mothalo.

A shortlist will be released for the top 10 nominees for the awards that will be held in Morocco later this month.

One of these trio Cameroon's Ajara Nchout
Njoya, South Africa's Chrestinah Kgatlana, and Nigeria's Asisat Oshoala are the top contenders to win the prestigious award.

Apart from the POTY, Nigeria also made it to several categories of the CAF awards nomination which are;


• Asisat Oshoala
• Rasheedat Ajibade
• Chiamaka Nnadozie
• Uchenna Kanu


• Gift Monday 
• Maryann Ezenagu


• Gift Monday
• Flourish Sebastine


• River Angels

No comments

Powered by Blogger.