2022 World Cup: Winners Of The Golden Boot, Golden Ball, Golden Glove and FIFA Young Player Awards.

Following the sensational conclusion of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar on Sunday night, several awards such at the (Golden/Silver/Bronze Ball, Golden/Silver/,Bronze Boot, Golden Glove, and the Young Player of the Tournament) was given to players who deservedly did exceptionally well. 

Argentina captain Lionel Messi and France star Kylian Mbappe were among the individual award winners handed out by FIFA after the World Cup's thrilling final encounter at the Lusail Stadium. 

Messi scored twice and Mbappe bagged a hat-trick in a sensational final that finished 3-3 and was decided on penalties, where Argentina emerged triumphant. 

Two of Messi's team-mates also picked up awards in recognition of their efforts in Qatar.

Lionel Messi accomplished a lifelong dream by lifting international football’s most coveted trophy after scoring once in normal time, once in extra time and then again in the shoot-out, as Argentina emerged World champions for the third time in history.

However, Kylian Mbappe rose to the occasion of a match many had billed as master vs apprentice as he scored a superb hat-trick, and also converted his penalty in the shoot-out.


Golden BallLionel Messi

Messi claimed the Golden Ball for best player at the tournament, and made history in the process, becoming the first man to win the award twice, having previously done so in Germany 2014.

The seven-time Ballon d'Or winner was crucial in sealing his country’s first title since 1986, and his first ever World Cup title in his career. He scored seven goals and made three assists, which won him the Golden Ball as the tournament's best player.

His PSG teammate Mbappe, took the silver ball, while Croatia playmaker Luka Modric who was the winner of the Golden Ball in Russia four years ago, was awarded the bronze ball this time.

Golden BootKylian Mbappe

The France striker, scored his sixth, seventh and eighth goals of the 2022 tournament to take his total to 12 in the competition overall.

The 23-year-old became the only player in history to score 4 goals in the World Cup final.

He edged out Leo Messi in dicey race, and ended the World Cup with eight goals.

Messi therefore claimed the silver boot, while France striker Olivier Giroud took the bronze boot after scoring four times in six games.

Golden GloveEmiliano Martinez

Martinez proved crucial in the final, making a superb stop late in extra-time before saving a penalty in the shoot-out to help Argentina win the trophy.

The Aston Villa keeper finished the tournament with three clean sheets to his name, the same number as Morocco’s Bono and England’s Jordan Pickford.

Young Player of the TournamentEnzo Fernandez

Fernandez started the World Cup on the bench, but after a shock 2-1 defeat to Saudi Arabia he was drafted in by Lionel Scaloni and quickly made an impact.

The Benfica midfielder scored a stunning goal against Mexico in the group stage and played every minute in the knockout stages.

FIFA Fair Play AwardEngland

The Three Lions did take one award home – the Fair Play Award.

England were nowhere near the 2022 World Cup final but they were still commended for their efforts by FIFA as the tournament in Qatar drew to a close.

Gareth Southgate’s men exited the tournament with the fewest bookings.

Harry Maguire 's elbow on France star Antoine Griezmann saw him receive a booking in the 90th minute of their quarter-final defeat, as the Three Lions agonisingly lost 2-1.  That proved to be their only card throughout their five-game run in Qatar.

In the comfortable wins against Iran, Wales and Senegal, Southgate's side kept their discipline, just as they also managed to in their frustrating 0-0 draw with the United States.


No comments

Powered by Blogger.