FIFA Appoints Referees For The 2022 World Cup Final And Third-Place Match.

Szymon Marciniak, has been appointed as the man in the centre to oversee the Qatar 2022 World Cup final between Argentina and France on Sunday.

The Polish referee, Syzmon Marciniak will take charge of the final following strong performances in officiating France vs Denmark in the group stage as well as Argentina vs Australia in the last-16. 

His experience refereeing both teams left on the tournament, means he has what it takes to officiate the final match.

He will become the first Polish referee to take charge of a World Cup final.

The 41-year-old has extensive UEFA Champions League experience and was in the middle for Liverpool's first-leg semi-final victory over Villarreal last season. Marciniak additionally refereed three matches at the 2016 UEFA EURO.

READ MORE: Luka Modrić Lambaste Referee, But Wishes Messi Well After Croatia's Defeat To Argentina In The 2022 World Cup. 

According to Sports Center, Fifa legendary referee chairman Pierluigi Collina has been impressed so far with Marciniak performances in Qatar and had picked him as the man for the tournament’s big match, with the iconic Italian official leading the cohort of referees on behalf of FIFA for the tournament.

Marciniak’s appointment is a snub to Anthony Taylor (who is still in Qatar) and Michael Oliver (who was sent home by FIFA) after taking charge of Brazil's quarter final defeat to Croatia.

Also in the running were Mexican referee Cesar Ramos and the American Ismael Elfath, with the latter available after the country of his birth, Morocco were knocked out. The former, meanwhile, may not be considered due to having Spanish as his first language which would make it easier to communicate with the Argentina players.


The refereeing team for the 2022 FIFA World Cup Final in Qatar;

Marciniak will be assisted by his compatriots Paweł Sokolnicki and Tomasz Listkiewicz.

4th Official Ismail Elfath- USA

5th Official Kathryn Nesbitt- USA

VAR Tomasz Kwiatkowski- Poland

Assistant VAR Juan Soto- Venezuela

Offside VAR Kyle Atkins- USA

Support VAR Fernando Guerrero- Mexico

The final of the world's biggest sporting event is set to be contested by Argentina and France on Sunday, December 18 at Lusail Stadium, 4pm (NGA).

Reigning champions France and Lionel Messi-led Argentina as both nations take a shot at winning the title for the third time in the history of the tournament. 

Argentina won the coveted trophy in 1978 and 1986 while France achieved glory in 1998 and 2018.

READ MORE: Guardiola, Ancelotti, And Mourinho, Are Top Candidates To Become The Next Brazil Manager After Tite's Departure.

As per reports, the winner of the FIFA World Cup 2022 final will get a whopping $42 million in prize while the runner-up will earn $30 million. Therefore, the finalists will cherish $72 million in winnings. 

Meanwhile third-placed team will be given $27 million and the fourth-placed team will win $25 million.

Qatari referee Abdulrahman Al-Jassim will take charge of the World Cup third place play-off game on Saturday, December 17 between Croatia and Morocco at Khalifa International Stadium.

The 35-year-old was referee for USA and Wales' 1-1 group stage draw on the tournament's second day. He oversaw the FIFA Club World Cup final between Liverpool and Flamengo in December 2019.

Al Jassim will have fellow Qataris Taleb Al Marri and Saoud Ahmed Almaqaleh as assistant referees for this weekend's fixture, as Morocco will aim to become the first African nation to get third-place in the history of the grand tournament.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.