Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas Win The Best Men's and Women's Player At The Best Fifa Football Awards. {See Full List}

Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas are crowned the best players of the past year at The Best FIFA Football Awards 2022 ceremony, held in Paris on Monday night, 27 February.

The award ceremony contained an opening speech from Gianni Infantino and an emotional tribute to Pele, following his passing away aged 82 in December.

Paris Saint-Germain forward Messi scooped the prize having captained Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar, and scored 27 goals in 49 games for club and country in 2022.

FC Barcelona Femení’s Spanish midfielder Alexia Putellas was clinched the award for the second year in a row after a successful year which saw her club win a third successive league title.  

Messi was named Best FIFA Men's player of 2022, ahead of his PSG's team-mate Kylian Mbappe and Real Madrid star Karim Benzema. Putellas won the award for Best FIFA Women's Player ahead of Alex Morgan and Beth Mead.

Messi, who won the award for a second time, said: "It's amazing. It's been a tremendous year and it's an honour for me to be here and win this award. Without my team-mates I wouldn't be here.

"I achieved the dream I had been hoping for for so long. Very few people can achieve that and I have been lucky to do so."

Mary Earps who plays for Man United in the Women's Super League, won the Best Goalkeeper after a year she started all six of England's games at the UEFA Women's Euro 2022 as the Lionesses won the competition.   

Emiliano Martínez got his hands on The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper prize following his outstanding performances at the 2022 World Cup that saw him save four penalties along the way including in the shootout victory against France in the final.

Lionel Scaloni, who led Argentina to their third World Cup title, was named men's coach of the year.

Scaloni beat Pep Guardiola who guided Man City to a sixth Premier League title last season, and Real Madrid's Champions League winning boss Carlo Ancelotti to the honour.

England manager Sarina Wiegman was named women's coach of the year after leading the Lionesses to European Championship glory on home soil last year, the team's first major trophy.

The winners of The Best player, goalkeeper and coach awards were determined through a voting process in which four groups had an equal say: football fans, selected media representatives and the captains and head coaches of national teams from around the globe.

Alongside recognising the outstanding performances of coaches, goalkeepers and more across the men’s and women’s game.

Full List Of Winners:

Best FIFA Men’s Player: Lionel Messi (Argentina/PSG)

Best FIFA Women’s Player: Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona femení)

Best Men’s Goalkeeper Nominees: Thibaut Courtois, Yassine Bounou

Winner: Emiliano Martinez (Argentina/Aston Villa)

Best Women's Goalkeeper Nominees: Ann Katrin Berger, Christiane Endler

Winner: Mary Earps (England/Manchester United WFC)

Best Men’s Coach Award Nominees: Carlo Ancelotti, Pep Guardiola

Winner: Lionel Scaloni (Argentina men's national team)

Best Womens’s Coach Award Nominees: Sonia Bompastor, Pia Sundhage

Winner: Sarina Wiegman (England women's national team)

The Puskás Award Nominees: 

Mario Balotelli (Adana Demirspor vs Goztepe - 22 May 2022), Amandine Henry ( Barcelona vs Lyon - 21 May 2022), Theo Hernandez (AC Milan vs Atalanta - 15 May 2022), Alou Kuol (Iraq U23 vs Australia U23 - 4 June 2022), Kylian Mbappe (Argentina vs France - 18 December 2022), Francisco Gonzalez Metilli (Club Atletico Central Cordoba vs Rosario Central - 1 August 2022), Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona vs Villarreal - 2 April 2022), Dimitri Payet (Marseille vs PAOK - 7 April 2022), Richarlison (Brazil vs Serbia - 24 November 2022), Alessia Russo (England vs Sweden - 26 July 2022)

Winner: Marcin Oleksy (Warta Poznań vs Stal Rzeszow – 6 November 2022)

The FIFA Fair Play Award Nominees: Eduardo Camavinga and France under-21s team, Sadio Mane.

Winner: Luka Lochoshvili (Georgia/Wolfsberger AC/U.S. Cremonese)

The FIFA Best Fan Award Nominees: Japan fans, Abdullah Al-Salmi   

Winner: Argentina's fans

Best Men’s XI: 

Thibaut Courtois; Achraf Hakimi, Joao Cancelo, Virgil van Dijk; Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro; Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland.

Best Women’s XI: 

Christiane Endler; Lucy Bronze, Maria Leon, Leah Williamson, Wendy Renard; Alexia Putellas, Keira Walsh, Lena Oberdorff; Alex Morgan, Sam Kerr, Beth Mead.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.