Italian giants Inter And AC Milan Are Both Back In The Quarter-Finals Of The UCL Since 12-Years.

For the first time since 2005/2006, both Italian giants Inter Milan and their neighbors AC Milan are back in the UEFA Champions League quarterfinals.

Inter Milan qualified for the Champions League quarter-finals for the seventh time overall, and for the first time after 12-years (since 2011), as they eliminated FC Porto in their round-of-16 encounter on Tuesday night.

Simone Inzaghi's side had won 1-0 over Porto in the first leg at the San Siro courtesy of Romelu Lukaku's late winner and were able to frustrate their opponents in Portugal.

They survived a late barrage of pressure at Estradio do Dragao to escape with a 0-0 draw which took them through 1-0 on aggregate for the first time in more than a decade.

Inter's last appearance in the Champions League quarter-finals came 12 years ago when they lost 7-3 on aggregate to German side Schalke.

Inter, three-time European champions, join city rivals AC Milan in Friday's quarter-final draw, which takes place at Uefa's headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.

For the first time since 2006, both Inter and AC Milan have reached the quarter-finals.

AC Milan had progressed to the Champions League quarterfinals for the first time since 2011-2012 after a 0-0 draw with 10-man Tottenham Hotspur a week ago, eliminating the Premier League side 1-0 on aggregate.

Milan had won the first leg at the San Siro thanks to an early strike from Brahim Diaz, and went on to frustrate their opponent Spurs in London.

Bayern Munich, Benfica, Chelsea and Manchester City are also other teams in the last eight.

Serie A leaders Napoli, 18 points clear of Inter, could become the third Italian side through as they hold a 2-0 advantage over Eintracht Frankfurt before Wednesday's second leg, while Real Madrid lead 5-2 against Liverpool after their first-leg victory at Anfield.

When will the draws take place?

The draws for the quarter-finals and semi-finals take place at 12Pm Nigerian time on Friday, March 17 in Nyon, Switzerland at UEFA's headquarters.

The eight qualified teams from the round-of-16, are involved in an open quarter-final and semi-final draw.

There are no seedings and no country protection, so clubs can face opposition from the same country. They can also draw teams they previously played in the group stage.

A final draw will also take place to determine the 'home' side for administrative reasons for the showpiece event in Istanbul, Turkey on June 10.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.