Bayern Munich Crowned Unexpected Champions Of The Bundesliga For The 11th Seasons In A Row.

Bayern Munich are crowned champions of the German Bundesliga in the most dramatic fashion, snatching the title away from rivals Borussia Dortmund on Saturday afternoon. 

The Bavarians won 2-1 in the last minute against Koln, and coupled with Dortmund's 2-2 draw against Mainz, sealed their 11th consecutive Bundesliga title.

Going into the final game of the season, Bayern knew that only a victory will see them stand a chance, and also hoped that Dortmund, who were two points clear at the top, drop points in their game.

Dortmund were favourites to end the Bavarians’ domestic dominance heading into Saturday’s games but bottled the chance to win the league for the first time in 11 years (since 2012), after their disappointing 2-2 draw at home to Mainz, losing out on goal difference.


Bayern entered their game with a positive start, when Leroy Sane set up Kingsley Coman to score in the eighth minute.

And by half time, it seems as if Bayern already had a hand on the trophy, as Dortmund were 2-0 down in their game.

Andreas Hanche-Olsen gave the visitors the lead in the 15th minute to shock Signal Iduna Park. Two minutes later, Dortmund were handed a relief to draw level after a foul inside the box by Dominik Kohr, but Sebastien Haller's penalty was saved by Finn Dahmen.

Matters got even worse for the hosts on 24 minutes when Karim Onisiwo rose to head home Jae-Sung Lee's cross from the left to double the lead for Mainz.

Dortmund only began their response with 21 minutes remaining as Raphael Guerreiro's narrowed the deficit through a shot from Gio Reyna's pass that found the bottom corner, yet they showed little sign of turning the game around.

Edin Terzic's side still needed two goals to win the match and be crowned champions provided Bayern are still winning in Cologne. 

However, Dortmund managed to level their game late on, as Niklas Sule levelled in the 96th minute but there was not enough time for a winner.

Meanwhile, at Bayern's game, there was a dramatic twist of event when a handball by Serge Gnabry allowed Dejan Ljubicic to level from the spot for Köln in the 81st minute.m, which meant the title was heading to Dortmund at the time.

With two minutes of normal time remaining Bayern managed to find a way just as true champions do when Gnabry set up Jamal Musiala for a decisive blow to give Bayern the title.

Manager Thomas Tuchel had his old side Mainz to largely thank for his first unexpected title win with the Bavarians.

The surprise sacking of Julian Nagelsmann in late March and the arrival of Tuchel did not bring success, with the team crashing out of both the German Cup and the Champions League last eight.

Bayern finished top with 71 points, same as second place Dortmund who had an inferior goal difference of 15.

RB Leipzig and sensational Union Berlin are third and fourth respectively and will also compete in the Champions League next season.

Hertha Berlin and Schalke 04 were relegated, while VfB Stuttgart will go into the relegation playoff.

The last time the Bundesliga title was won by the team who started the final day second was 1999-2000, when Bayern beat Bayer Leverkusen to the crown.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.