OFFICIAL: Lionel Messi Emerges Winner Of The 2023 Laureus World Sportsman Award.

Lionel Messi have emerged winner of the Laureus World Sportsman of The Year award for 2023.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honouring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year.

Awarded for the first time in the year 2000, the winners are chosen by the 42 members of the Academy, former elite athletes of recognized prestige.

This years edition of the award gala was held on Monday May 8, 2023 at the Pavillon Vendome in Paris.

It's the second time that Messi would be winning the award having won it along side British racing driver Lewis Hamilton in the 2020 edition, and he's still the only footballer to have won it.

The iconic footballer reached even greater heights last year, when he inspired and captained Argentina to a historic third World Cup triumph in Qatar.

Messi clinched the award as he outvoted his PSG teammate Kylian Mbappé, tennis player Rafael Nadal, basketball player Steph Curry, pilot Max Verstappen and Swedish athlete Mondo Duplantis.

"It is always nice to receive recognition of this type, this year I was lucky to fulfill my great dream, to be world champion, it cost me a lot, almost my entire career, in between I went through everything, many joys with Barcelona and many sadness with the national team, but I never stopped, and everything was a lesson for me”, said the seven time Ballon d'Or winner.

"There were many obstacles along the way but I always tried to overcome myself, with the support of my people. I am very grateful, I was able to fulfill my dream and that of an entire country. It took time to arrive but it was the nicest thing that happened to me.... He added.

"This award goes to all of Argentina. Thank you very much."

Argentina was also awarded the 2023 Laureus World Team of the Year Award.

The Albiceleste team thrilled the footballing world with their performances at the World Cup, culminating in an incredible victory over France in one of the greatest finals the tournament has ever seen.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.