Haaland, Saka, Daly, James WINS The 22/23 PFA Players' Awards.

Manchester City's Erling Haaland has won the PFA men's Players' Player of the Year award, with Arsenal's Bukayo Saka named Young Player of the Year.

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) prestigious award, salutes the best male and female players in English football in 2023, and it's voted by professionals.

Haaland made an outstanding contribution throughout the campaign following his move from Borussia Dortmund in a deal worth £51.2m in June 2022.

His performance also saw him named in the PFA's Team of the Year, as Pep Guardiola's men won the historic treble (Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League).

The City striker scored an incredible 52 goals in all competitions after a record-breaking first season at the Etihad. 

He broke the single-season Premier League goalscoring record in 2022/23 with 36 goals in just 35 games while his 44 goal involvements equalled the highest-ever total set by Thierry Henry.

The 23-year-old Norwegian, saw off competition from team-mates John Stones and Kevin De Bruyne, as well as from Arsenal pair Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard and former Tottenham striker Harry Kane, who is now at Bayern Munich.

Haaland scooped the award having already been named the FWA Footballer of the Year, Premier League Player of the Season and Manchester City Player of the Season.

Meanwhile, Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka is named the Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year in recognition of his role in the Gunners’unexpected title race last season.

The 21-year-old beat fellow nominees Moises Caicedo, who recently joined Chelsea from Brighton, Aston Villa midfielder Jacob Ramsey, Arsenal forward Gabriel Martinelli,  Brighton striker Evan Ferguson, and Man City’s Erling Haaland to win the award on Tuesday.

The England international polled the most votes to finish ahead of every other candidate for the award.

Saka scored a career-high 15 goals in all competitions, as well as providing 11 assists in his finest season for the Gunners.

He was also involved in all 38 Premier League games for Arsenal.

Both winners of the individual prizes were also included in the PFA Team of the Year.

On the other hand ,England and Aston Villa star Rachel Daly won the women's Player of the Year, voted for by fellow players, while Chelsea's Lauren James picked up the Young Player of the Year award.

Daly and James were key performers for England in their run to the Women's World Cup final, which ended in defeat against Spain earlier this month.

Villa's Daly scored 22 goals in the Women's Super League last season, a remarkable achievement for a player who featured at left-back in the Lionesses' successful Euros campaign in 2022.

The 31-year-old beat off competition from Sam Kerr, Frida Maanum, Guro Reiten, Khadija 'Bunny' Shaw and Ona Batlle.

PFA Team of the Year 2022-23:

• Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

• William Saliba (Arsenal)

• Ruben Dias (Man City)

• John Stones (Man City)

• Kieran Trippier (Newcastle)

• Rodri (Man City)

• Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)

• Kevin de Bruyne (Man City)

• Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

• Harry Kane (Tottenham)

• Erling Haaland (Man City).

PFA WSL Team of the Year:

• Mary Earps - Manchester United 

• Ona Batlle - Man United

• Maya Le Tissier - Man United 

• Rafaelle - Arsenal 

• Alex Greenwood - Man City

• Frida Maanum- Arsenal 

• Yui Hasegawa - Man City

• Guro Reiten - Chelsea 

• Rachel Daly - Aston Villa 

• Sam Kerr - Chelsea 

• Khadija Shaw- Man City.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.