Holders Man United, Arsenal, Man City, Chelsea, Liverpool Discover Opponents In The Third-Rond Carabao Cup Draw.[Full list]

The third round draw for the Carabao Cup has been conducted following the conclusion of the second round games on Wednesday night.

The biggest upset of the second round fixtures was Tottenham being knocked out by Fulham 5-3 via penalties after a 1-1 draw at regulation time.

Chelsea almost joined Spurs, but have to come from behind to advance into the Carabao Cup third-round with a hard-fought 2-1 victory over London rivals AFC Wimbledon.

The remaining Premier League heavyweight sides that qualified for Europe this season officially entered the competition for Wednesday's third-round draw.

Holders Manchester United, Arsenal, Manchester City, Newcastle, West Ham, Brighton and Aston Villa are all in the hat, with all fixtures possible from this stage onwards with the regionalised portion of the cup finishing in round two.

Man United will begin their defence of the Carabao Cup at home to Crystal Palace, while last season's treble winners Man City will travel to St. James' Park to play a strong Newcastle United side.

Record nine-time winners Liverpool face three-time winners Leicester City at Anfield; Gary Neville's Salford City host Vincent Kompany's Burnley.

Arsenal will cross London to face Brentford, Chelsea host Brighton at Stamford Bridge, as Premier League's bottom side Everton, who needed two late goals to see off League Two Doncaster, were given an away tie at Aston Villa.

All third-round ties are due to be played the week beginning Monday September 25, 2023.

Carabao Cup third round draw in full:

Ipswich Town 🆚 Wolverhampton Wanderers

Exeter City 🆚 Luton Town

Aston Villa 🆚 Everton

Manchester United 🆚 Crystal Palace

Port Vale 🆚 Sutton United

Bradford City 🆚 Middlesbrough

Bournemouth 🆚 Stoke City

Lincoln City 🆚 West Ham

Brentford 🆚 Arsenal

Chelsea 🆚 Brighton

Salford City 🆚 Burnley

Fulham 🆚 Norwich City

Blackburn Rovers 🆚 Cardiff City

Liverpool 🆚 Leicester City

Newcastle United 🆚 Manchester City

Mansfield Town 🆚 Peterborough United

No comments

Powered by Blogger.