Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala Are Crowned The African Players Of The Year Men and Women At CAF Awards 2023.

Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala made history as they won the CAF Player of the Year award for both men and women categories, making it the first time both honours are won by a single country!

Osimhen becomes the first Nigerian to win the award in 24 years since after Nwankwo Kanu in 1999.

The Napoli man was nominated alongside Egypt and Liverpool's Mohammed Salah and Morocco and PSG’s Achraf Hakimi in the top three, but he beat the North African duo to the clinch the prize.

Barcelona FΓ©mini and Super Falcons Of Nigeria Asisat Oshoala is also named the African Women's Footballer of the Year.

The 27-year-old beats South Africa’s Thembi Klagtlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda to the award.

This is a record-extending SIXTH time that Oshoala would be winning the award, moving further away from Yaya TourΓ©, Samuel Eto'o and Perpetua Nwokocha as the most decorated player on the continent.

She had been adjudged the best African female football player in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2022 and now 2023 respectively.

Meanwhile, Super Falcons of Nigeria’s and Paris FC goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie also won the women’s goalkeeper of the year award.

Nigerian duo of Michelle Alozie and Tosin Demehin joined Oshoala in the CAF women’s best XI.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria were also named as the women’s best national team on the continent.

However, Deborah Abiodun was beaten to the women’s best young player prize by Nesryne El Chad of Morroco.

CAF FIFPRO BEST XI MEN (formation 1-3-4-3):

• Andre Onana πŸ‡¨πŸ‡² 

• Achraf Hakimi πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ 

• Chancel Mbemba πŸ‡¨πŸ‡©

• Kalidou Koulibaly πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡³ 

• Thomas Partey πŸ‡¬πŸ‡­ 

• Andre-frank Anguissa πŸ‡¨πŸ‡² 

• Mohammed Kudus πŸ‡¬πŸ‡­ 

• Sofyan Amrabat πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ 

• Sadio Mane πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡³ 

• Victor Osimhen πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ 

• Mo Salah πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡¬ 

CAF FIFPRO Best XI Women (formation 1-4-3-3):

• Andile Dlamini πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ 

• Michelle Alozie πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ 

• Bambani Mbane πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ 

• Osinachi  Ohale πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ 

• Lebohang Ramalepe πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ 

• Fatima Tagnaout πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ 

• Linda Motlhalo πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ 

• Refiloe Jane πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ 

• Tabitha Chawinga πŸ‡²πŸ‡Ό 

• Barbra Banda πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡² 

• Asisat Oshoala πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ 


Goalkeeper of the year (Men)

πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ Yassine Bounou of Morocco

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ Fatima Tagnaout of Morocco

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ Pacey Tau of Al Ahly/South Africa

Young Player of the Year (Women)

πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ Nesryne El Chad of Morocco

Young Player of the Year (Men)

πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡³ Lamine Camara of Senegal

Coach of the Year (Women)

πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ Desiree Ellis of South Africa

Coach of the Year (Men)

πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ Walid Regragui of Morocco

Club of the Year (Women)

πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ Mamelodi Sundowns

Club of the Year (Men)

πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡¬ Al Ahly FC

National Team of the Year (Women)

πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ Super Falcons of Nigeria

National Team of the Year (Men)

πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ Morocco

Goal of the Year

⚽ Mahmoud Kahraba of Al Ahly 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.