Breaking: Iheanacho And Ndidi Are PROMOTED Back To The Premier League With Leicester City.

Wilfred Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho have secured automatic promotion to the Premier League with Leicester City for the 2024/25 season after a one-year absence.

The foxes return to English top-flight was made official on Friday night without even being in action, following Queen Park Rangers’ 4-0 win over second-placed Leeds United on the night.

Leeds travelled to Loftus Road knowing that they needed to avoid defeat against QPR to stop Leicester going up that night, but goals from Ilias Chair and Lucas Andersen inside 22 minutes of the first half handed QPR a two-goal lead.

After the break, there were two more goals as Lyndon Dykes and Sam Field rounded off the rout on 73 and 86 minutes which gave the hosts the victory and guaranteed their survival in England’s second-tier (Championship) next season.

The Leeds defeat at Loftus Road means Daniel Farke's side stay four points behind Championship leaders Leicester with only one game left for them, thereby ensuring that they can no longer overtake the midlands club for one of the two automatic promotion places.

While Leicester City are currently on 94 points with two games to play, Leeds stay second on 90 points but with just one match left.

This sets the stage for an intense battle between Leeds and Ipswich Town as they vie for the coveted second automatic promotion spot to the Premier League.

The Whites now have to hope that nearest rivals and contenders Ipswich slip up in the fight for the second automatic promotion place.

Kieran McKenna’s third-placed Ipswich side are just a point (89) behind the Yorkshire outfit, with three matches still to play.

Leeds will find themselves outside the top two if Ipswich win both away games against Hull City on Saturday, and Coventry City on Tuesday which will see them join Leicester to gain automatic promotion to the Premier League after 22 years away, while the Whites will have to enter the play-offs.

promotion at the first time of asking having been relegated from the Premier League last season following a third-from-bottom finish.

For Leicester City, this promotion marks a triumphant return to the Premier League after being relegated to the Championship last season following a third-from-bottom finish which brought an end to a decade of unparalleled success for the Foxes.

The outstanding contributions of Super Eagles duo of Kelechi Iheanacho and Wilfred Ndidi, who has been instrumental in the team's success under Enzo Maresca despite their tense season with fluctuating performances.

Ndidi, in particular, was instrumental in their vital last two matches, scoring in the narrow 2-1 win against West Bromwich Albion, and  was also on the scoresheet as they thrashed Southampton 5-0 to keep their promotion hopes firmly on track, after a back-to-back disappointing away loses to Millwall and Plymouth.

They remain on track to amass 100 points on their way back to the top flight, and would need just four points from their two remaining games to win the Championship title.

On the other hand, they can also claim the Championship title on Monday with victory at Preston if third-placed Ipswich fail to beat Hull City on Saturday.

Ipswich can still catch Leicester, but that's if they win their three remaining matches, and hope the Foxes either lose one of their last two games or draw both.

Enzo Maresca was appointed as Leicester's head coach at the end of the last campaign, and he has implemented an attractive. possession-based style that has seen his team excel this season.

Their final two games begin with a trip to Preston at Deepdale on Monday, before they round off the season with a home finale against Blackburn on May 4.

The 2024/25 season will be the Foxes’ 18th season in the Premier League.

Their highest finish came in 2015/16, when they shocked the sporting world and won the Premier League title, finishing 10 points clear under the guidance of Claudio Ranieri, and in 2021 they lifted the FA Cup for the first and only time in their history.

It all started with promotion as Championship title winners in 2013-14, and now the decade has been capped with another promotion.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.