The Confederation of African Football on Friday 12th April 2019 conducted the draws of the 32nd edition of the 2019 cup of nations held at the famous Giza Pyramids in the capital of  Egypt, Cairo.

AFCON 2019

The tournament will be hosted by Egypt who is the most successful side in the history of the tournament winning the trophy 7 times, followed by Cameroon (5 times winners ) and Nigeria (3times winner).

The defending champions Cameroon was initially scheduled to host the 32nd edition of the tournament since 1972 when they last hosted but they were stripped of hosting right on 30 November 2018 due to delays in the delivery of infrastructure. Egypt was therefore chosen to host the 2019 tournament by CAF on 8 January 2019.

The tournament will begin Friday June 21, 2019, when Egypt will host zimbabwe In the opening fixture of the tournament . The last time Egypt hosted the tournament in 2006, they emerge Champions, beating Ivory Coast at the final 4-2 in a penalty shoot out after a goalless draw encounter.



A1- Egypt
A2- Dr Congo
A3- Uganda
A4- Zimbabwe

This group of matches would be played at the Cairo stadium which has hosted the competition finals three times, but Egypt only managed to win two of them. it has an all seated capacity of 75,000 and the biggest in the city.


B1- Nigeria
B2- Guinea
B4- Burundi
This group of matches would be played at the Alexandria Stadium with an all seated capacity of 20,000, it is considered to be the oldest stadium in Egypt and Africa, built in the year 1929.


C1- Senegal
C2- Algeria
C3- Kenya
C4- Tanzania

This group of matches would be played at the Air Force Stadium built by the Egyptian Air Defense Force, with an all seating capacity of 30,000.


D1- Morroco
D2- Cote d' Ivore
D3- South Africa
D4- Namibia

This group of matches would be played at the Al Salam Stadium with an all seated capacity of 30,000, the stadium is known to be an alternative to the Cairo Stadium.


E1- Tunisia
E2- Mali
E3- Maurituana
E4- Angola

This group of matches would be played at the Suez Stadium with an all seated capacity of 27,000. This is the first time the stadium will host an international tournament, built in the year 1990.


F1- Cameroon
F2- Ghana
F3- Benin
F4- Guinea Bissau

This group of matches would be played at the Ismailia Stadium located in the north east of Egypt with an 18,525 seating capacity after its reconstruction in 2009.

The top two teams of each group, along with the best four third placed teams will advance to the round of 16.

Egypt is also the country to have taken part the most in the championship, as she records  a 24th appearance, while Ivory Coast  is heading for a 23rd show and Ghana will be making a 22nd appearance. Tunisia will make a 19th appearance while Nigeria will make her 18th appearance.

Teams who have won the AFCON trophy, namely Egypt, Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, DR Congo, Ivory Coast, Algeria, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Africa, Tunisia, Morocco, Congo-Brazzaville and Zambia.

Six other countries have reached the final without ever winning it: Mali, Burkina Faso, Uganda, Guinea, Libya and Senegal.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.