Harry Maguire Named As Permanent Manchester United Captain, Succeeding Ashley Young.

Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has confirmed that Harry Maguire will be the new permanent club captain.

New Permanent Manchester United Captain;
"Harry Maguire"
The 26-year-old England centre back, who joined Manchester United from Leicester City in the summer (6-Months-ago) in a record-breaking £80million transfer fee for a defender, has been officially handed the captain armband by Solskjaer and will succeed Ashley Young in the role.

Young had been earlier named United skipper at the start of the season but is expected to leave to join Inter Milan later this month, as Manchester United have agreed a £1.5million transfer fee for the 34-year-old, and he is set for a medical with Antionio Conte's Serie A team on Friday.

Manchester United Manager, in a press conference earlier today says; 
"Harry Maguire is wearing the captain’s armband and will keep wearing it, he’s been a leader in the group, I’ve been, not surprised, but impressed by his leadership skills, so he will continue wearing the armband."

"Maguire comes in and everything about him tells me he’s a leader. He’s part of a group that we’ve had that have been leading this young group, Ashley has been, David, Marcus, Harry, so Harry will keep on wearing the armband." 

Solskjaer on departing captain Young to Inter: 
"He’s 35 in the summer and if he gets a two-year contract somewhere, I think it’s up to him to take that. We were ready to offer that, he’s been a good servant, captain, won trophies, league cups, but we’ve got players coming through.”

Harry Maguire has played 29 games for Manchester United this season and yet to score a goal for the club, He has already been replacing the inconsistent Ashley young as captain on different occasions this season, but will make his first outing as the permanent club captain when they visit League leaders Liverpool in the Premier League at Anfield this Sunday.

Manchester United have had 11 players captain the club in the Premier League since 1992 till date:

•Bryan Robson (England)

•Steve Bruce (England)

•Eric Cantona (France)

•Roy Keane (Ireland)

•Gary Neville (England)

•Nemanja Vidić (Serbia)

•Wayne Rooney (England)

•Michael Carrick (England) 

•Antonio Valencia (Ecuador)

•Ashley Young (England)

•Harry Maguire (England)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.