Lionel Messi and Lewis Hamilton, Emerge Winners of the 2020 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year.

Argentine footballer Leo Messi and British racing driver Lewis Hamilton have emerged joint-winners of the Laureus World Sportsman of The Year award for 2020.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honouring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year.

This years edition of the award was held in Berlin, Germany after been staged in Monaco for the past three consecutive years.

With Six World Championships and Ballon d'Ors between them, Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi share the Laureus 2020 World Sportsman of the Year award, in what seems to be a moment of sporting history, as both individuals emerge winner of the award for the first time in history since it's inception in 2000.

35-year-old Hamilton speaking having won the award;
"Thank you to the Laureus Sport for this incredible award of World Sportsman of the Year. To think that my name is going to slot in alongside the legends, who have won this award before me, is really humbling. Thank you again".

On the other hand, Lionel Messi who became the First Footballer ever to win the Laureus World Sports Award says via a video footage;
"Firstly, I will apologise for not being able to come to the awards night, I really wanted to be there for everything that this award represents, but unfortunately I couldn't make it.

"I am honoured to be the first to win this award being a sportsperson coming from a team sport, and not an individual sport which is usually the case."
I would like to thank the academy for giving me this recognition"... Concluded the 32-year-old Barcelona forward.

CloudNine Sports understands that Messi and Hamilton emerge winners ahead of other nominees like; American golfer Tiger Woods (44), Kenyan long distance runner Eliud Kipchoge (35), Spanish Tennis player Rafael Nadal (33) and Spanish Grand prix motorcycle racer Marc Marquez (27).

Serbain Tennis player Novak Djokovic was the former holder of Laureus World Sportsman award of the year 2019.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.