Bayern Munich Emerge Champions Of The Bundesliga For The Eighth Consecutive Year.

Bayern Munich reign supreme in Germany once again, after emerging champions of the Bundesliga on Tuesday night for the eighth consecutive times.

Bayern Munich celebrated the victory in an empty 42,000 capacity Weserstadion after securing the title with a 1-0 win over Werder Bremen, which put them 10 points clear of second-place Borussia Dortmund, who have three games left to play.

Robert Lewandowski opened the scoring for the champions with a tidy finish, having chested down Jerome Boateng's superb pass to net the winner shortly before the half-time whistle.

The Polish forward, who scored his 31st goal of the campaign on his return from suspension, scored again after the break but was disallowed for offside.

Hansi Flick's men sealed the league with two games to spare, as they withstand a period of sustained late pressure in the second half, after teenage left-back Alphonso Davies was sent off for two yellow-card offences with 11 minutes left to full-time.

Werder Bremen who have spent more seasons in the Bundesliga than any other club since after 1981, are currently battling against relegation.

The win was Bayern’s eighth consecutive victory in all competitions since the German season restarted last month following the coronavirus lockdown.

Bayern Munich becomes the second team in history to win eight consecutive title in one of Europe's 'big five' leagues, and also wins the Bundesliga title 30 times as many as all other German clubs combined.

The Bavarians wore red T-shirts after full-time with the number eight on them to mark the club winning the Bundesliga title between 2012/2013 and 2019/2020 seasons

They still remain on course to win the treble, as they have qualified to the final of the German Cup, and are still competing in the Chanpions League having beaten Chelsea 3-0 in the first-leg of their quarter-finals tie at Stamford Bridge.

Join our Telegram channel to get more trending sports gists on the go...

No comments

Powered by Blogger.