Man United Captain Harry Maguire Has Been Removed From The England Squad By Coach Gareth Southgate.

Manchester United captain Harry Maguire has been dropped from the England squad called up for international duty next month.

The 27-year-old had initially been included in Coach Gareth Southgate team list released earlier today despite ongoing trials at the Greek court, as the team prepares for the upcoming Nations League matches against Iceland on September 5 and Denmark on September 8.

Harry Maguire was earlier arrested with his brother and a friend after a fight broke out while he was on holiday in Mykonos over claims his sister was injected with a suspected "rape drug". 

He was later found guilty of three charges by the Greek court on Tuesday, and was given a 21-month suspended prison sentence for aggravated assault, resisting arrest and repeated attempts of bribery.

Gareth Southgate in a statement according to Sky Sports, spoke on the removal of Harry Maguire from his team list;

"In light of this evening's developments, I can confirm I have withdrawn Harry Maguire from the England squad for the matches against Iceland and Denmark,"

"As I said earlier today, I reserved the right to review the situation. Having spoken to Manchester United and the player, I have made this decision in the best interests of all parties and with consideration of the impact on our preparations for next week.

Here is the confirmed England squad list for international duty:


  • Dean Henderson (Man United)
  • Jordan Pickford (Everton)
  • Nick Pope (Burnley)


  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Eric Dier (Tottenham)
  • Joe Gomez (Liverpool)
  • Michael Keane (Everton)
  • Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa)
  • Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)
  • Kyle Walker (Man City)


  • Phil Foden (Man City)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham)
  • James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)
  • Harry Winks (Bournemouth)


  • Tammy Abraham (Chelsea)
  • Mason Greenwood (Man United)
  • Danny Ings (Southampton)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • Marcus Rashford (Man United)
  • Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Raheem Sterling (Man City)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.