Ruben Dias And Pep Guadiola WINS The Premier League Player And Manager Of The 2020/21 Season.

Manchester City's defender Rúben Dias has been crowned the Premier League’s Player of the Year award.

It is his second individual award since arriving England from Benfica for £65m last year, as he also claimed the annual vote of the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Season last month following a superb debut campaign.

He made 32 appearances and contributed to City's 15 clean sheets, made 35 interceptions, 24 tackles, 23 blocks and 135 recoveries.

His partnership with England defender John Stones led to the team conceding just 32 league goals all season, the fewest in the league.

The 24-year-old played a key role in delivering City's third Premier League title in four years as well as the League Cup, and helped his side reach their furst ever Champions League final last Saturday in Porto which they lost 1-0 to Chelsea.

Dias saw off competitions from fellow City team-mate Kevin De Bruyne, Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane, Manchester United midfielder Bruno Fernandes,Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah, Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish, West Ham’s Tomas Soucek, Chelsea’s Mason Mount to clinch the award.  

It sees the award which is sponsored by EA Sports FIFA been retained at the Etihad, as Kevin De Bruyne’s won it last season.

Dias becomes the fourth defender to win the honour after Man United's Nemanja Vidić, former City captainVincent Kompany and Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk..

He is also just the second Portuguese player to win it, alongside his compatriot and former Manchester United forward Ronaldo won the award in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

The award was voted by the public, combined with those of the 20 Premier League club captains and a panel of football experts.

Manchester City also dominated PFA Premier League Team of the Year with six (6) player in the line-up (Ederson, João Cancelo, Dias, John Stones, IIkay Gundogan, and De Bruyne), along with Harry Kane, Son Heung-min, Luke Shaw, Bruno Fernandes and Mohamed Salah all in the XI.

Meanwhile, Pep Guardiola aso scooped the award for the Manager of the Season for a third time.

The Cityzen's boss had won the manager's award in 2017-18, and again in 2018-19 when he led City to a consecutive league titles.

Under the Spaniard, City conceded the fewest goals (32) this season and kept clean sheets in half of their games (19) to finish 12 points clear of second-placed Manchester United.

The 50-year-old manager, reclaimed the title which they lost by 18-points last season to Jurgen Klopp's Liverpool.

Guardiola won the award ahead of fellow nominees Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United), David Moyes (West Ham United), Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Manchester United).

No comments

Powered by Blogger.