OFFICIAL: AFCON 2021 Draws Have Been Completed

The draw ceremony for the 33rd edition of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations, Cameroon has officially be completed today at the Yaounde Conference Centre.

The draws which was initially due to have  taken place in June this year was cancelled by the African football's governing body due to logistical reasons related to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Cameroon is set to host the tournament which like other sporting events was cancelled last year due to the global health crisis caused by coronavirus.

24 African nations have already qualified for the next year’s showpiece, set to commence January 9th, to February 6th, 2022.

The draw was conducted today by CAF Competitions Director Samson Adamu, and  assisted by some of the greatest African legends, including Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o, Ivorian Didier Drogba, Algerian Rabah Madjer, Ghanaian Asamoah Gyan and Cameroonian Gaelle Enganamouit.

It saw the 24 qualified teams zoned into six groups of four teams each.

The Super Eagles first game at AFCON 2021 will be against the seven-time champions Egypt.

This would be the 8th encounter between the sides at the AFCON finals, with Nigeria having the superior Head to Head record of  3 wins, 3 draws and 2 losses.

Here is the Full Group Stage Draws and their Venues; 🇨🇲

GROUP A at the Olembe Stadium (Yaounde):

  • Cameroon
  • Burkina Faso
  • Ethiopia
  • Cape Verde

GROUP B at the Kouekong Stadium (Bafoussam) :

  • Senegal
  • Zimbabwe
  • Guinea
  • Malawi

GROUP C at the Ahmadou Ahidjo stadium (Yaounde):

  • Morocco
  • Ghana
  • Comoros
  • Gabon

GROUP D at the Roumde Adja stadium (Garoua):

  • Nigeria
  • Egypt
  • Sudan
  • Guinea-Bissau

GROUP E at the Japoma Stadium (Douala):

  • Algeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Cote D'Ivoire

GROUP F at the Limbe Stadium (Limbe): 

  • Tunisia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Gambia

Algeria are the current reigning champions following their 1-0 victory over Senegal at the Cairo stadium in Egypt 2019.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.