FIFA The Best Awards Shortlist For 2021 Announced, Lewandowski, Messi, Salah Vying For the Men's Player Of The Year.

Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski, Paris St-Germain's Lionel Messi, and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah have emerged on Friday, as the three finalists for the FIFA's Best Men's Player of the Year award for 2021.

Poland star Lewandowski won the FIFA award last year, but managed to receive a consolation as the new best striker of the year after been beaten to the 2021 Ballon d'Or award by winner Lionel Messi.


He enjoyed another spectacular year at club level for Bayern, scoring a Bundesliga record 41 goals in the 2020-21 season to eclipse the previous best total set by Gerd Muller in the 1971-72 campaign.


Argentine superstar Lionel Messi, would be hoping to add to his newly seventh Ballon d'Or, having helped Argentina win the Copa America, the country's first major trophy since 1993.

Egyptian king Mo Salah enjoyed an exceptional 2021 and is currently the leading goal scorer in the Premier League with 16 goals, having finished second to Harry Kane last season.

Salah who is arguably in the best form of his life, is currently with his national team Egypt, preparing to lead his country to win a record 8 Africa Cup of Nations title.

In the Women's category, Barcelona and Spanish pair Alexia Putellas and Jennifer Hermoso alongside Chelsea's Australian striker Sam Kerr have all been nominated as the finalists for the FIFA Best Women's Player award. 

The trio were also the top three vote-getters for the 2021 Ballon d'Or, which was eventually won by Alexia Putellas.

Barca midfielder Putellas, and her teammate Jennifer Hermoso, helped Barca win the Primera Division, Copa de la Reina and Champions League treble.

While Sam Kerr helped Chelsea retain the Women's Super League title in 2021 and reach the Champions League final.

She also scored twice in the 3-0 win over Arsenal in the Women's FA Cup final on 5th December, as Chelsea clinched the trophy for the third time.

England's Lucy Bronze won the award last year.

Manuel Neuer, Gianluigi Donnarumma and Edouard Mendy are in the running for best men's goalkeeper honours. 

While Man City's Pep Guardiola, Chelsea's Thomas Tuchel, and Italy's Roberto Mancini are the three nominees for best men's coach of the year award, and Barca's Lluis Cortes, Chelsea's Emma Hayes and former Netherlands coach Sarina Wiegman are in contention for best women's coach.

The three players vying for the 2021 Fifa Puskas award are Erik Lamela, Patrick Schick and Mehdi Taremi. 

It is an award given to the best goal scored in world football during the year, regardless of its importance or the level of competition.

* Tottenham's Erik Lamela fine 'rabona' finish vd Arsenal in the Premier League on March 14, 2021.

* Czech Republic's Patrick Schick spectacular goal from his own half vs Scotland in the Euro 2020 tournament, June 14, 2021.

* FC Porto's Mehdi Taremi bicycle kick goal into the top corner against Chelsea in the Champions League, April 13, 2021.

The awards for the best men's and women's player, coach and goalkeeper are voted by the current captains and coaches of all national teams around the world, as well as fans registered on, and a selected number of journalists. All voting closed on December 10.

The winners will be announced at the virtual Best Fifa Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on 17 January.

Best men's player:

Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich)

Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona/Paris St-Germain)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)

Best women's player:

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain/Barcelona)

Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)

Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)

Best men's coach:

Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City)

Roberto Mancini (Italy/Italian national team)

Thomas Tuchel (Germany/Chelsea)

Best women's coach:

Lluis Cortes (Spain/Barcelona)

Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands national team)

Best men's goalkeeper:

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea)

Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich)

Best women's goalkeeper:

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea)

Christiane Endler (Chile/Paris Saint-Germain/Lyon)

Stephanie Labbe (Canada/FC Rosengard/Paris Saint-Germain)

Fifa Puskas Award:

Erik Lamela 

Patrik Schick 

Mehdi Taremi

No comments

Powered by Blogger.