Eintracht Frankfurt Wins A Second European Title To End A 42-Year Wait.

Eintracht Frankfurt emerge champions of the 2021/22 Europa League after coming from behind to beat Rangers via penalties on Wednesday night. 

The German Bundesliga side, become champions with an undefeated Europa League campaign to emulate Chelsea in 2018/19 and Villarreal last season.

The match which went down at the Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán Stadium in Seville, saw the first half ended without goals for both sides with very little chances created.

In the second half which started more cagey, Rangers managed to find themselves in front in the 57th minute, Frankfurt defender Tuta tripped over his own feet to leave Joe Aribo in on goal and he made no mistake in slotting home under pressure and in front of his own fans.

READ MORE: Barcelona And Chelsea Could Wait A Year To Sign Robert Lewandowski As Bayern President Not Willing To Sell Their Striker.

The Gers forward Aribo '25' joins Alex Iwobi  as the only Nigeria Super Eagles player to have scored in the final of a major European competition. Iwobi scored for Arsenal vs Chelsea in the 2019 Europa League final.

Though the lead didn't last long for the team from Scotland, as the German Bundesliga side reacted well with Colombian striker Rafael Santos Borre converting from close range to equalize for Frankfurt as Rangers failed to clear a cross into their six-yard box in the 69th minute.

Nothing could separate the both teams after 90 minutes, nor after 120 minute extra-time. The initial 90 ended 1-1. 

Frankfurt went on to convert all five spot kicks following a perfect performance in the shootout that ended 5-4, while former Arsenal man Aaron Ramsey was the only player to miss for Rangers.

Kevin Trapp savec a poor penalty kick from the Welshman.

READ MORE: Luiz Suarez Bids Emotional Farewell To The Atletico Madrid Fans, Having Played His Last Home Game For The Club.

 The victory for Frankfurt, hands the club their second victory in the competition since 1980, and will join four other German teams to play Champions League football next season.

The last team from Germany to win the tournament before tonight was Schalke 04 in 1997, when they defeated Inter Milan 4-1 on penalties after the two-legged final ended 1-1. 

Meanwhile the defeat for the Gers makes it a second loss in a Europa League final in 14 years, having lost to Zenit St Petersburg in 2008. 

This is the first time a team from Scotland has been in the competition's final since 'The Gers' rivals Glasgow Celtic in 2003, where they lost 3-2 to Jose Mourinho's FC Porto. No team from Scotland has won the competition before.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.