CAF Announces 150% Increase In Women’s AFCON Prize Money.

 CAF announce 150% increase in Women’s AFCON prize money.

In line with the new policy at CAF to make women’s football in Africa globally competitive, the President of the Confederation of African football (CAF) Dr Patrice Motsepe has announced an increase of 150% in prize money for the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022.

The 12-nation tournament will kick-off on Saturday night at 21h30 local time (20h30 GMT) with hosts Morocco playing Burkina Faso at the country's capital Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium, in Rabat.

The overall prize money of the competition has been increased from $975,000 to $2,400,000 – an increase of almost $1.5 million. 

The winner of this year’s edition will pocket $500 000 – a 150% increase of $300,000." Previous winners of this competition received $200,000.

The President of CAF and the CAF Executive Committee have identified women’s football as amongst the top priorities of CAF.

The prize money for the runners-up has almost doubled from $175,000 to $300,000 and the semi-finalists will get $225,000 each instead of the previous $125,000.

Quarter-finalists will emerge for the first time in the competition’s history following the expansion from eight to 12 teams, and each team in the last eight will receive $175,000.

Teams that finish third in their groups will receive $150,000 each, an increase of $50,000, while bottom teams get $100,000, an improvement of $25,000 from the previous amount.

CAF also confirmed the usage of Video Assistance Referee (VAR) in all the 28 matches for the 2022 WAFCON that began in Morocco.

The tournament has started on July 2 with hosts Morocco defeating Burkina Faso 1-0 in the opener at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium, in Rabat, and will end on July 23.

Super Falcons of Nigeria have dominated the competition, having emerged champions nine times out of the 11 editions, and would be looking to defend their crown and add a tenth title.

READ MORE: CAF Announces 150% Increase In Women’s AFCON Prize Money.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.