The Nominees For 'The Best FIFA Football Awards' For 2022 Revealed. {See Full List}

FIFA have announced candidates for the 2022 'Best Awards' in a post on its website on Thursday.

The Best Football Awards is an association football award presented annually by the sport's governing body, FIFA.

The year 2022 saw a number of memorable football moments at both club and international levels. 

From Bayern's record 10th straight Bundesliga and Erling Haaland's rampant start to life in England with Man City, to Karim Benzema winning the Ballon d'Or, to Senegal's first Africa Cup of Nations triumph and a first semi-final World Cup finish for an African side with Morocco in Qatar.

The year ends with Argentina winning their first World Cup since 1986 and third in history, with Lionel Messi having to wait until age 35 to claim the most important international honour of his career to seal his status as the greatest player of all time, and has been touted as the leading contender for the 2023 Ballon d'Or.

According to Goal, the final shortlist of players for 'The Best Awards', are selected by FIFA based on sporting performance both at team and individual level as well as general conduct on and off the pitch.

Of those nominees, votes are then decided by media representatives, national team coaches, national team captains and, since October 2016, the general public.

Each group gets 25% of the vote, before a winner is announced from votes cast from those four sections.

The football world will be allowed to vote for their preferred winner in each category on the FIFA website and mobile app.

Users then have to click 'Submit your vote' at the bottom of the page and the vote will be counted.

Cristiano Ronaldo who is omitted from the 2022 nominees list, won the first edition of the award in 2016 and went on to win it for the second consecutive time in 2017.

Luka Modric won the 2018 edition, and Lionel Messi claimed the 2019 award.

Robert Lewandowski is the current holder of the award, and the only player to have won the award twice after Cristiano Ronaldo (2020 and 2021), he also made the shortlist for 2022.

The full nominees shortlisted by FIFA on Thursday are listed below:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: 

• Julián Álvarez (Argentina / River Plate / Manchester City FC)

• Jude Bellingham (England / BV Borussia 09 Dortmund) 

• Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid CF) 

• Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City FC)

Erling Haaland (Norway / BV Borussia 09 Dortmund / Manchester City FC)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco / Paris Saint-Germain) 

Robert Lewandowski (Poland / FC Bayern München / FC Barcelona)

Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool FC / FC Bayern München)

Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain)

Luka Modrić (Croatia / Real Madrid CF)

Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool FC) 

Vinícius Junior (Brazil / Real Madrid CF)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: 

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Debinha (Brazil / North Carolina Courage)

Jessie Fleming (Canada / Chelsea FC Women)

Ada Hegerberg (Norway / Olympique Lyonnais)

Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

Beth Mead (England / Arsenal WFC)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

Alex Morgan (USA / Orlando Pride / San Diego Wave)

Lena Oberdorf (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)

Alexandra Popp (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)

Alexia Putellas (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

Keira Walsh (England / Manchester City WFC / FC Barcelona)

Leah Williamson (England / Arsenal WFC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: 

Sonia Bompastor (France / Olympique Lyonnais) 

Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)

Bev Priestman (England / Canadian National Team)

Pia Sundhage (Sweden / Brazilian National Team)

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany / German National Team)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / England National Team) 

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy / Real Madrid CF)

Didier Deschamps (France / French National Team)

Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City FC) 

Walid Regragui (Morocco / Wydad AC / Moroccan National Team)

Lionel Scaloni (Argentina / Argentinian National Team) 

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: 

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)

Mary Earps (England / Manchester United WFC) 

Christiane Endler (Chile / Olympique Lyonnais)

Merle Frohms (Germany / Eintracht Frankfurt / VfL Wolfsburg)

Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain / FC Barcelona)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Álisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool FC) 

Yassine Bounou (Morocco / Sevilla FC)

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Real Madrid CF)

Ederson (Brazil / Manchester City FC)

Emiliano Martínez (Argentina / Aston Villa FC) 

The FIFA Puskás Award:

  • Mario Balotelli (Italy): Adana Demirspor v. Göztepe Spor Kulübü [Süper Lig] (22 May 2022)
  • Amandine Henry (France): FC Barcelona v. Olympique Lyonnais [UEFA Women’s Champions League] (21 May 2022)
  • Théo Hernández (France): AC Milan v. Atalanta [Serie A] (15 May 2022)
  • Alou Kuol (Australia): Iraq U23 v. Australia U23 [AFC U23 Asian Cup] (4 June 2022)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France): Argentina v. France [FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™] (18 December 2022)
  • Francisco González Metilli (Argentina): Club Atlético Central Córdoba v. Club Atlético Rosario Central [Primera División] (1 August 2022)
  • Marcin Oleksy (Poland): Warta Poznań v. Stal Rzeszów [PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa] (6 November 2022)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Spain): FC Barcelona v. Villarreal CF [Liga F] (2 April 2022)

  • Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille v. PAOK Thessaloniki [UEFA Europa Conference League] (7 April 2022)
  • Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil v. Serbia [FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022] (24 November 2022)
  • Alessia Russo (England): England v. Sweden [UEFA Women’s EURO 2022] (26 July 2022).

Public voting for the winners will run until 23:59 CET on 3 February 2023.

FIFA will announce the three finalists in each of the categories listed above in early February this year.

The awards of all categories, including the men's player, will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards on February 27, 2023.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.