Erling Haaland And Sam Kerr Wins The FWA Players Of The Year For 2022/23.

Manchester City’s striker Erling Haaland won the prestigious Football Writers' Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year award after his impressive debut season in England, it was announced Friday.

The 22-year-old Haaland who joined Manchester City from German side Borussia Dortmund in the summer, has had an outstanding first season at the Etihad Stadium, scoring 51 goals in all competitions.

He has also broke the Premier League's single-season scoring record with his 35th goal coming in a 3-0 win over West Ham United last weekend.

The Norwegian has eclipsed the previous record for most goals scored in all competitions by a Premier League player. His 51 goals have far exceeded the 44 scored by Ruud van Nistelrooy for Manchester United in 2002-03 and Mohamed Salah in 2017-18.

He still has a chance to surpass the all-time record for the most goals in England's top division, however. The legendary Dixie Dean struck 60 goals for Everton in 1927-28.

Haaland won the prize by getting 82 percent of the FWA vote, the biggest margin since in the Premier League era.

Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard came second and third respectively after their long stay at the top of the Premier League.

Saka and Odegaard have neatly shared 29 goals and 29 assists between them and have been a driving force behind Arsenal’s impressive form. 

Whether the Arsenal duo’s performances would eventually lead to a first league title in 19 years remains to be seen. The Gunners currently trail City by a point with three games of the campaign remaining.

City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne came fourth and Man United forward Marcus Rashford fifth. 

"To win the Football Writers' Award in my first season in English football is an honour," Haaland said in a statement. 

"I try every single day to be the best I can be, and to be recognised like this means a lot to me.

"I have loved my time at City so far -- my teammates are incredible, and they provide me with the chances to score goals. I want to thank all of them, because I could not have won this award without them.

"I also owe so much to manager Pep Guardiola and the team behind the team here at City. Everybody has been so good to me since I joined and I have never worked with such top professionals.

"Thank you to everyone who voted for me. It's a real honour to have won this award. I am now focused on ensuring I finish the season as strongly as possible and helping City win trophies."

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Women striker Sam Kerr also received the women’s award for the second successive season. 

She becomes the first back-to-back winner of the Women’s Footballer of the Year. 

The 26-year-old Australia international gained twice as many votes as second placed Aston Villa's Rachel Daly, who is the WSL's top scorer with 20 goals, while her Blues teammate Lauren James was third.

Kerr has found the back of the net 26 times in 34 appearances for the West London club side this season, including 10 in the Women's Super League.

Both Haaland and Kerr have played a key role with their clubs as both Man City and Chelsea look to retain league titles.

Man City are currently in the semi-finals of the Champions League and the final of the FA Cup while also leading the Premier League table with just four games to the end of the season.

The FWA confirmed that both Haaland and Kerr will receive their awards at a special Footballer of the Year 75th anniversary dinner in London on May 25.


No comments

Powered by Blogger.