Europa League Kings Sevilla WINS A Seventh Crown After Victory Over Roma.

Sevilla defeats Roma on penalties to win the Europa League for an incredible seventh time at the Puskas Arena in Budapest on Wednesday night.

The Spanish side came from 1-0 down to take the game to penalties in which they stepped up to win the competition once again.

After a slow start to the match for both sides, Paulo Dybala raced onto an excellent through ball from Mancini and slotted it beyond Bono to give Roma the lead in the 34th minute. 

Sevilla had a bright start to the second half, though, and pulled level when Jesus Navas' cross caught out Gianluca Mancini and the defender ended up knocking it into his own net from close range.

It turned into a scrappy affair full of yellow cards as referee Anthony Taylor was repeatedly surrounded by players. Two penalty claims were denied by the officials in the second half to keep the score level and eventually take the tie to extra-time and then shootout.

Gonzalo Montiel, who won the World Cup for Argentina with a penalty, took the final kick to win his club side a trophy, and ends  Jose Mourinho's hope for a sixth European title, and winny the Europa League with three different clubs, following prior triumphs with Porto (2003) and Manchester United (2017).

The former Chelsea, Real Madrid and Inter Milan manager was set to become the first manager to win the Europa League with three different teams, but failed to become the most decorated manager in the long history of European competition and move clear of Italian maestro Giovanni Trapattoni.

The Giallorossi lifted the inaugural  Conference League last season after beating Feyenoord 1-0 in the final in Tirana to claim a first trophy since 2008, which secured qualification to UEFA's secondary club competition this season.

They were the only team in the semi-finals who actually started the Europa League rather than drop down from the Champions League after the group stage.

Los Rojiblancos on the other hand, have now won the competition on each occasion they have reached its finale, with the first success coming in 2006, after Sevilla saw off the challenge of Middlesbrough.

Semi-final victory over Juventus saw them reach the final of the Europa League - or its predecessor, the UEFA Cup - for a seventh time; two more than any other club.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.