Mason Greenwood Included, De Gea Out, As Man United Reveals Official Retained List For 2023-24 Season.

Mason Greenwood has in included in Manchester United official retain list of players for the 2023-24 season, despite suspension as club announce seven departures.

Despite no longer facing charges, Greenwood, remains suspended by United, pending the outcome of an internal investigation into whether he brought the club into disrepute and was in breach of his contract.

He has not played for the Red Devils since being arrested in January 2022 after being charged for attempted rape, assault and controlling and coercive behaviour.

The Crown Prosecution Service withdrew the charges against Greenwood on February 2, 2023 after key witnesses decided to withdraw their involvement, but Man United are yet to conclude an internal investigation into the matter.

Greenwood is contract at Old Trafford runs until 2025, but it remains to be seen if he will continue at Old Trafford or whether the club will decide to cut ties with the 22-year-old forward.

According to reports, manager Erik Ten Hag and "most of the Man United squad" are reportedly willing to welcome Greenwood back to the team, although the club may only sanction his return if the women's team and key stakeholders also agree.

The report also added that, Greenwood is thought to have told friends he does not expect to play for the club again and is believed to have attracted interest from clubs in Spain, Italy and Turkey. There is also the potential scenario that the striker is loaned out for the 2023-24 campaign.

Meanwhile, A total of seven players have been released by the club, including Phil Jones after 12-years at the club, and Axel Tuanzebe having made 37 appearances, following the expiry of their contracts.

Jack Butland, who arrived on loan from Crystal Palace in January, has signed for Rangers but Tom Heaton will stay at United after the club activated a one-year option in his contract.

United also included an update on goalkeeper David De Gea, who does not feature on the retained list.

The Spaniard who was ten Hag's No.1 last season, will officially become a free agent once his contract expires on June 30, but the club are keen to make him stay. He is expected to agree a new two-year deal with the club.

United are hoping to agree an extension that would see the 32-year-old significantly reduce his basic wage, but with built-in bonuses depending on the amount of games he plays.

Even if De Gea extends his contract, ten Hag is already looking to replace of offer competition for his role, and Porto's goalkeeper Diogo Costa is the main contender to be signed in the summer.

United said in a statement: "In terms of the goalkeeping department, discussions remain open with David De Gea over a potential new contract, while Tom Heaton and Nathan Bishop have had extensions triggered on their deals.

"Extensions were also processed for defenders Rhys Bennett and Ethan Laird, while Under-21s player coach Tom Huddlestone is expected to stay after discussions over a new contract.

"Young forward Mateo Mejia has also been offered a deal."

Manchester United official retained list.

Section A: Players aged under 24 as of June 2023:

Amad, Antony, Rhys Bennett, Nathan Bishop, Toby Collyer, Anthony Elanga, Noam Emeran, Ethan Ennis, Alvaro Fernandez, Will Fish, Omari Forson, Tyler Fredricson, Alejandro Garnacho, Dan Gore, Mason Greenwood, Hannibal, Isak Hansen-Aaroen, Bjorn Hardley, Elyh Harrison, Joe Hugill, Zidane Iqbal, Louis Jackson, Marc Jurado, Willy Kambwala, Matej Kovar, Ethan Laird, Kobbie Mainoo, Tyrell Malacia, Ondrej Mastny, Sam Mather, Charlie McNeill, Dermot Mee, Mateo Mejia, Teden Mengi, Sam Murray, Habeeb Ogunneye, Maximillian Oyedele, Facundo Pellistri, Logan Pye, Jadon Sancho, Charlie Savage, Malachi Sharpe, Shola Shoretire, Radek Vitek, Brandon Williams and Tom Wooster

Section B: Players aged over 24 as of 30 June 2023:

Eric Bailly, Casemiro, Diogo Dalot, Christian Eriksen, Bruno Fernandes, Fred, Tom Heaton, Dean Henderson, Tom Huddlestone, Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire, Anthony Martial, Lisandro Martinez, Scott McTominay, Marcus Rashford, Luke Shaw, Alex Telles, Donny van de Beek, Raphael Varane and Aaron Wan-Bissaka

No comments

Powered by Blogger.