BREAKING: Finidi George Has RESIGNED From His Role In The Nigeria Super Eagles Team.

Finidi George has reportedly RESIGNED from his role as the Super Eagles Head Coach. 

This currently leaves the Super Eagles without a permanent manager.

The 53-year-old former Nigerian international and member of the iconic 1994 Super Eagles squad that won the nation's second African Cup of Nations title (AFCON), took over as head coach last month ahead of the 2026 World Cup qualifiers against South Africa and the Benin Republic.

He drew 1-1 to the Bafana Bafana boys in Uyo, and then three days later, he lost 2-1 to Benin in Abidjan.

The defeat leaves the three-time African champions with a disappointing three points out of a potential 12, following a string of three draws so far in the CAF World Cup qualifiers.

READ MOREDrama Continues In Nigerian Football As Victor Osimhen LAMBASTES Finidi George For Singling Out For Criticism. {WATCH VIDEO}

Finidi's exit was confirmed by former Eagles media officer, Toyin Ibitoye, on his X account.

Ibitoye wrote: “News just in: Finidi George @FinidiGeorge_FG has resigned from his @NGSuperEagles manager position.”

NFF wanted him to continue in his role as Head Coach and they bring in a foreign Technical Adviser, but he decided to resign and allow the new foreign coach to be in charge of the team without him in the dugout.

During an NFF Executive Committee meeting held in Abuja on Wednesday, June 12, 2024, the Nigeria Football Federation expressed dissatisfaction with the team’s performance and resolved to scouting for a foreign coach for the Super Eagles.

The committee apologised to Nigerians for Super Eagles’ lacklustre performance, emphasising their commitment to assembling a better-prepared squad for the upcoming AFCON 2025 qualifiers in September and the continuation of the 2026 World Cup qualifiers in March 2025.

Nigeria now have a very challenging task, as they must win all their remaining six matches to have any chance of qualifying for the expanded 2026 FIFA World Cup, which will be hosted by Canada, the USA, and Mexico.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.