Kelechi Iheanacho Becomes The Last Player To Finally Arrive The Super Eagles Camp Ahead Of The 2022 AFCON qualifiers.

Nigerian hotshot Kelechi Iheanacho has finally arrived the Super Eagles camp ahead of the 2022 Africa Cup Of Nations (AFCON) Qualifiers games against the Squirrels of Benin Republic, and the Crocodiles of Lesotho.

The Leicester City striker who is currently in the hottest form of his career, was the last of the invited players by the head coach Gernot Rohr to join the team this morning at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island Lagos.

Iheanacho recently delivered a spectacular performance in the stunning FA Cup quarter-final 3-1 win over Manchester United at King Power Stadium last Sunday, scoring twice and providing an assist.

According to reports, his late arrival was due to mixup in his flight schedule.

The Super Eagles verified Twitter handle officially confirmed his arrival on Wednesday morning;

"He is among the 24 players now in camp namely: Musa, Troost-Ekong, Aina, Ajayi, Onyekuru, Etebor, Adeleke, Awaziem, Shehu, Iwuala, Noble, Iwobi, Balogun, Aribo, Ebuehi, Maduka, Collins, Onuachu, Uzoho, Sanusi, Ndidi, Chukwueze, Osimhen, Iheanacho".

The three-time African champions, would be having a training session today before travelling to Cotonou on Friday for their matchday five clash with the republic of Benin on Saturday March 27 at the Chales De Gualle stadium in Porto Novo (5pm NGA).

The team would also travel back almost immediately to host Lesotho three days later for the final group stage game at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos (5pm NGA).

Nigeria currently tops the Group L table of the qualifiers with eight points from four games, and would look to return to winning ways following the disappointing (4-4), and (0-0) draws they got from their back-to-back games against Sierra Leone in November last year.

A victory over Benin or Lesotho will seal their place at the continental tournament in Cameroon next year.

They finished third at the 2019 edition of the competition behind winners Algeria and Senegal.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.