David De Gea Becomes The First Man United Player To Win The Player's Player of the Year Award Four Times.

Goalkeeper David de Gea has won the Manchester United Player’s Player of the Year award for the fourth time, which is more than any other player in the club’s history.

The Spanish shot-stopper was in great and consistent form for the Red Devils all season, despite what seems to be a very disappointing campaign for the team. David de Gea played every single minute of Premier League action and pulled off a series of top and sublime saves.

The 31-year-old won the award ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Fred.

He had also won the club’s Player of the Month award during the just concluded season on three occasions in November, December and January respectively.

He accumulated a total of seven Man-of-the-Match awards during the campaign, with only Ronaldo having claimed as many.

READ MORE: Reactions As Manchester United Confirm Paul Pogba Departure After Six Years.

De gea first won the award in the 2013/14 season, three years after his arrival at Old Trafford from Atletico Madrid for a British record fee for a goalkeeper of approximately £18.9 million, as he replaces the retiring Edwin Van der Sar. He has gone on the win the award again in 2014/15, 2017/18 and now 2021/22.


 Man United's Players’ Player of the Year From 2006-2022:

2005/06: Ryan Giggs

2006/07: Cristiano Ronaldo

2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo

2008/09: Nemanja Vidic

2009/10: Wayne Rooney

2010/11: Nani

2011/12: Antonio Valencia

2012/13: Michael Carrick

2013/14: David de Gea

2014/15: David de Gea

2015/16: Chris Smalling

2016/17: Antonio Valencia

2017/18: David de Gea

2018/19: Luke Shaw

2019/20: Anthony Martial

2020/21: Luke Shaw

2021/22: David de Gea

No comments

Powered by Blogger.