CAF Release Final 10-Man Nominees For The African Footballer of the Year Awards 2022.

The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) as on Monday released the Top 10 Men's Player of the Year nominees.

2021 Africa Cup of Nations AFCON Champions Senegal dominated the ten man list with three players, which includes; new  Bayern Munich star Sadio Mane, Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy, and Napoli's defender Kalidou Koulibaly.

Egypt who are the tournament finalist has just one player in the list which is Liverpool's Mohamed Salah, while Algeria, Cameroon, Guinea, Morocco and Ivory Coast all had representatives in the final shortlist.

READ MOREMoses Simon Is The Only Nigerian Player To Make The 30-Man Nominees For The CAF Men's Player Of The Year. 

Despite Moses Simon being the only Nigeria Super Eagles player to have made the initial 30-man shortlist, He failed to make it to the final 10-Man list before the awards are handed out on Thursday, July 21.

Senegalese forward Sadio Mane is the current holder of the award from 2019. The prestigious awards Gala would take place in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday July 21,

CAF 10-man final Player of the Year shortlist:

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Olympique Lyonnais)

Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)

Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Captains and Coaches of the member associations, selected journalists, CAF technical study group and CAF legends will decide the winner of the different categories.

The period under review is from September 2021 until June 2022.

There will be several categories to be presented including the Player of the Year (Men and Women), which Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala won the awards at the last edition held in 2019 at Hurghada in Egypt.

Other categories include; Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year and Goal of the Year.

CAF Young Player of the Year nominees:

Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso and Lorient)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire and ASEC/RB Salzburg) 

Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana and Rennes) 

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal and Metz) 

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia and Manchester United) 

CAF Interclub Player of the Year nominees:

 Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico) 

Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas) 

Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly) 

Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly) 

Percy Tau (Al Ahly) 

Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly) 

Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly) 

Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club) 

Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)

 Zouheir El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)


CAF Men National Team of the Year Nominees:

Burkina Faso 





CAF Coach of the Year (Men) award shortlist: 

Tom Saintfiet πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ (The Gambia πŸ‡¬πŸ‡² national team)

Aliou Cisse πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡³ (Senegal πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡³ national team)

Carlos Quieroz πŸ‡΅πŸ‡Ή (Egypt πŸ‡ΎπŸ‡ͺ national team)

Pitso Mosimane πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦ (Al Ahly πŸ‡ΎπŸ‡ͺ)

Walid Regrarui πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ ( Morocco πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ national team)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.